Regulation for Colorado:
There are 3 classes:
- Class 1: An electric bicycle that only provides assistance when the rider is pedaling; the motor ceases at 20 miles per hour (mph).
- Class 2: An electric bicycle that provides assistance regardless of whether the rider is pedaling; the motor ceases at 20 mph.
- Class 3: An electric bicycle that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling; the motor ceases at 28 mph. Class 3 electric bicycles must have a speedometer.
Permissible routes for electric bicycles
Class 1 and Class 2 electric bicycles are allowed on the same bicycle and pedestrian paths as conventional bicycles. Class 3 electric bicycles may not be ridden on a bicycle or pedestrian path unless the path is within a street or highway or permitted by the local jurisdiction. A local jurisdiction also has the authority to prohibit the operation of electric bicycles on any bicycle or pedestrian path under its jurisdiction.
Law for trails
- STATE: E-bikes are allowed in all 42 Colorado State Parks where bicycles are permitted. Contact Colorado State Parks for more information.
- FEDERAL: On federal lands, eMTBs are considered motorized vehicles and have access to motorized trails. Contact the US Forest Service Rocky Mountain Regional Office or the BLM Colorado State Office for more information.
Colorado's E-bike law (2018) (439.1 KiB)
Regulation for Larimer County:
Waiting for response.
Regulation for Estes Park:
There is no regulations outside of State law. Currently (09-14-2018), the Town Attorney is researching Colorado Municipalities for examples of e-bike regulations and if Estes Park would have a need to adopt any as well.